2022 IEEE DEIS Thomas Dakin Distinguished Technical Contributions Award

Professor Keith Nelson

Selected as the winner of  the 2022 IEEE DEIS Thomas Dakin Distinguished Technical Contributions Award

 Every two years, the IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society selects an individual for their outstanding, original contributions in advancing the technology of dielectrics and electrical insulation.  The award is named after Dr. Tom Dakin who made many important contributions to the understanding of aging of electrical insulation.  The Dakin Award is the highest technical achievement award that the DEIS bestows.  In March 2022, DEIS President Prof Brian Stewart announced that the 2022 winner of the Dakin Award is Prof Keith Nelson.

Keith Nelson was born in Oldham, UK and received his B.Sc.(Eng.) and Ph.D. degrees from the University of London, UK, and has held both industrial and academic appointments on both sides of the Atlantic . He is currently Professor Emeritus at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute [previously Philip Sporn Chair and Chairman of Electric Power Engineering Dept.]. Prior to his appointment at Rensselaer, he was manager of Electric Field Technology Programs at the General Electric R & D Center in Schenectady, NY. He has held numerous IEEE appointments including that of Technical Director,  2011-12, and the Presidency of the Dielectrics & Electrical Insulation Society, 1995-6. He is a chartered electrical engineer, a Fellow the IET and IEEE and the recipient of the IEEE Millennium Medal. Keith is the author of over 250 papers, patents and other technical documents, together with the first book published on Nanodielectrics (Springer, 2010).  Prof Nelson was selected as the 2022 Dakin Award winner “for his contributions to  advancements  in industrial dielectric materials”.

2021 IEEE DEIS Eric Forster Award

Prof Paul Lewin

2021 IEEE DEIS Eric Forster Award Winner


Every two years the IEEE DEIS selects an individual to recognize their sustained leadership, support, and contributions to the advancement of the field of electrical insulation and dielectrics. This award, which was first given in 1992, is named in honor of the late Eric O. Forster for his distinguished service on behalf of DEIS.  The 2021 winner of the IEEE DEIS Forster award is Prof Paul Lewin.

Paul, an IEEE Fellow,  has had a very distinguished technical career at the University of Southampton in the UK, where he is currently a Professor in Electrical Power Engineering as well as Head of School for Electronics and Computer Science.  Prof Lewin is also Operation Director of Southampton’s Tony Davies High Voltage Laboratory.

Paul has been very active with the IEEE Electrical Insulation Conference for many years where he has held numerous positions, including General Conference Chair for the 2015 EIC in Seattle.  Paul has also been very involved with the DEIS Administrative Committee (Adcom) which oversees all DEIS activities.  He first served as a member-at-large starting in 2008 and has a near perfect attendance record.  In 2013 he was appointed as V.P.- Technical and became the VP-Administrative in 2014.  In 2016 and 2017 he served as DEIS President and represented the DEIS on the IEEE Technical Activities Board.  In addition he has been an Associate Editor of the Transactions on Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation and served on the DEIS Fellows committee.  During his DEIS tenure on the DEIS Executive Committee, Paul has shown an incredible ability to be both a strategic thinker and to get things done.